Court as Performance Art

Yesterday (Mudthaw) was the first event that I spent the whole day as King’s Bard. I started the day out tired, cranky, out of the ability to people, and feeling like I didn’t know anyone. I did know people, don’t get me wrong, but this wasn’t an event I’d ever been to before, I had nothing assigned other than standing in court at the end of the day, and this was the first time that I wasn’t able to just tag along behind either Grim, Aife, or Toki. Nope. When people were stopping me to talk, they were stopping me. Which is a whole other kind of surreal. But not what I’m here to write about today.

No, I here to talk about my elementary school music teacher, Mr. Bordinaro. Trust me I’m going somewhere with this. Mr. Bordinaro introduced me to the idea of performance; though I didn’t realize it at the time. He spent a month, every year, teaching us Phantom of the Opera. Some of my fondest elementary school memories are listening to this animated Italian man explaining what was happening during Point of No Return, or explaining the Phantom’s first appearance. I’ve forgotten what the question was that led him to make a specific comment, but the comment itself stuck with me:

“It doesn’t matter if the Phantom’s exhausted, has done this 80 times already, or really doesn’t want to. The people in the audience aren’t, and haven’t. So he goes out and flips his cape just as dramatically as if it were his first time doing it. The audience deserves no less.”

Welcome to Aethelflied’s philosophy on standing in court.

Yesterday I was tired, cranky, anti-social, and having a mid to bad pain day with my back. I had my cane. All I wanted was to find a corner and  hide in it or go back to bed. Court rolled around and I really really didn’t want to.

But I’m not standing up there for me. I’m not standing behind the thrones just to look pretty and make sure everyone sees and knows my face. I’m up there for the effect having people behind the thrones gives the populous. Yes I could complain about it, skip it, glare daggers about having to go, ect. But those people who come to court? Don’t deserve that. They didn’t wake me up at 2am or take a bat to my spine. The people who get called up to get well deserved awards don’t deserve to have their moment with someone sighing and checking their watch.

For me court is a performance. My part is little, I’m not overly fond of it (standing for more than 10 minutes at a time without moving hurts, and I’m an introvert that doesn’t like being started at) but this is still the part I took and agreed to, which means I need to go out and do it and look like there’s no where else I’d rather be.

The audience deserves no less from me.

2 thoughts on “Court as Performance Art

  1. Court is theater. You’ve hit this precisely. Not every day will have your A game. Thank you for bringing your best to the Kingdom. I truly appreciate it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

